Fabian Cerutti

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Fabian played in the 1970s in Argentina until a military service injury to his leg ended his playing days, though not his passion for the beautiful game. After immigrating to the United States, Fabian’s passion for the game and for guiding goal keepers framed his coaching style, which is a blend of River Plate Argentina and Dutch Ajax. This blend highlights the physical side of  Argentina with the technical prowess of Dutch Ajax. Fabian began coaching with Slammers FC in 1995.


Fabian has a long history of developing goalkeepers at Slammers. His first keepers to achieve success were Will Johnson, who played in Holland and with MLS’s DC United and Ariana Croscione, who was a member of the Youth National team pools, and played at UCLA and Boston College. Sarah Cox, Makenna Henry and Lindsey Luke were also in Youth National team pools.

The USYSA Golden Gloves winners coached by Fabian include –

  • 2002 Christi Yount
  • 2003 Lauren Gregston
  • 2005 Alicia Lugo
  • 2010 Daniel Boyer

Fabian trained goalies have gone on to excel at the collegiate level, highlighted by Shayla

Sabin (CS Fullerton), Big West Tournament and Defensive Player of the Year and Alicia Lugo (UNLV), Mountain West Conference Tournament MVP. In the 2012 season, Lindsey Luke (Utah) was named Pac 12 Player of the Week.

Currently Fabian has 14 goalkeepers on fall 2012 college rosters (in BOLD), here is a list of Fabian goalies who have competed at the collegiate level –

  • Fredico Antonelli – Sacramento State
  • Megan Bartlett – Cornell
  • Daniel Boyer – Houston Baptist
  • Sarah Cox – Stanford
  • Connor Gaal – San Francisco
  • Lauren Gregston – Biola
  • Lauren Hein – Cal
  • Makenna Henry – UCSB
  • Erin Henry – UC Irvine
  • Taylor Jern – UC Davis
  • Kailey Keifus – Georgia Southern
  • Tammi Lenham – UCSB
  • Lindsey Luke – Utah
  • Renee McDermott – Texas A&M
  • Kathleen Messinger – Cal
  • Erica Quevedo – UC Irvine
  • Shayla Sabin – CS Fullerton
  • Jenna Sabin – CS Fullerton
  • Linzey Smith – Redlands
  • Kassidie Stade – Oklahoma
  • Emma Stevens – Nebraska
  • Anya Sumiyasu – Yale
  • Breanna Truelove – Long Beach St
  • Darien Vercillo – South Carolina
  • Thomas Yeandle – Sonoma State
  • Christi Yount – San Diego St